Are You A Foolish One?

One day a grand Caliph came to my small abode near a beautiful oasis.  He had traveled for many months.  I showed him a clear water pond to wash off the desert girt.  After he was rested, my djinn brought him food and beverage.  After his Highness was refreshed, I brought a pot of fresh coffee, two gold cups and some dates. We chatted for a moment and then I asked, “Why have you come to visit a humble man?”

The Caliph replied, “You are reputed to be the wisest and most practical imam in all of the lands.  I beg you, tell me if Allah is the One True God?”

I smiled and said, “There is ONLY ONE TRUE GOD.  Go home, and worship as you have been taught.”

One day a grand Cardinal of the Roman Church came to my small abode near a beautiful oasis.  He had traveled for many months.  I showed him a clear water pond to wash off the desert girt.  After he was rested, my djinn brought him food and beverage.  After his Highness was refreshed, I brought a pot of fresh coffee, two gold cups and some dates. We chatted for a moment and then I asked, “Why have you come to visit a humble man?”

The Cardinal replied, “In my country, you are reputed to be the wisest and most practical monk and close to our Lord. I beg you, tell me if Our Father is the One True God?”

I smiled and said, “There is ONLY ONE TRUE GOD.  Go home, and worship as you have been taught.”

One day an ancient Kabbalist came to my small abode near a beautiful oasis.  He had traveled for many months.  I showed him a clear water pond to wash off the desert girt.  After he was rested, my djinn brought him food and beverage.  After his Highness was refreshed, I brought a pot of fresh coffee, two gold cups and some dates. We chatted for a moment and then I asked, “Why have you come to visit a humble man?”

The Kabbalist replied, “You are reputed to be the wisest and most practical Kabbalist in all of the lands.  I beg you, tell me if Creator is the One True God?”

I smiled and said, “There is ONLY ONE TRUE GOD.  Go home, and worship as you have been taught.”

Several months later, the djinn asked me, “Holy Father, why did you lie to each of your visitors telling them that their God was the correct God?”

I replied, “My dear friend, I did not lie or mislead any of the three.  Did I not say to return home and worship the One True God?  I was not more specific for I realized that each only wanted his personal God, and not the True God.  They may not find God, but God will find them if they practice long enough so to discover, ‘that it is the fragrance of the rose which is most pleasant and not the color or name.  Come, let us have some coffee.”

And with that my friend and I disappeared for I meant coffee in Paris.

Leave a Reply

